Hempyreum.org
Local Time
English (UK) Deutsch (DE) Français (FR) Español (ES) Italian (IT)
Marijuana Laws in Wyoming
Author: Alice 10/09/2017 - 20:55:00

Marijuana Laws in Wyoming: 

  • Possessing 
  • Selling 
  • Growing and Manufacturing 
  • Using Marijuana 
  • Breaking the Laws 

In Wyoming, it is illegal to consume, possess, sell or grow marijuana. This state is one of the few that’s very resistant to the idea of legalizing cannabis. House Bill 0032 became law in July 2015. It allows the consumption of hemp extracts. But, since then, no other progress has been made. 

Wyoming’s HB 32 makes provisions for diagnosed state residents with intractable epilepsy. It allows these qualifying patients to use hemp extract for medicinal purposes. A state-licensed neurologist must qualify each patient, and supervise the use of the extract. It’s important to note that these extracts are already legal for consumption on a federal level throughout the United States. 

HB 32 was not supported by Wyoming Governor Matt Mead. He didn’t sign it. Yet, he didn’t veto it either. So, it just slid through legislation. It gives registered intractable epilepsy patients the legal right to possess and use cannabis extracts with very low tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) contents and rather high cannabidiol (CBD) contents. 

As of yet, no legal provisions have been made to allow any entity to grow cannabis or manufacture hemp oil within the state. No state-licensed dispensaries are operational at this time either. So, there are no legal methods for qualifying patients to obtain the hemp extract products.

Possessing Marijuana in Wyoming

Possessing any amount of cannabis in Wyoming is illegal. Such crimes are punishable as follows:

  • Under 3 ounces = Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 and/or up to 12 months’ incarceration
  • Over 3 ounces (first offense) = Felony: Up to $10,000 fine and/or up to 5 years’ incarceration
  • Within 500 feet of school = Additional $500 fine added to penalty for crime

Possessing Marijuana – Image powered by Pbs.org

Concentrates & Hashish

No one may lawfully possess any amount of hashish or liquid concentrates in the State of Wyoming at this time. Penalties for such crimes are punishable as follows:

  • Under 0.3 grams = Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine and no more than 12 months’ incarceration
  • Over 0.3 grams = Up to $10,000 fine and no more than 5 years’ incarceration

Paraphernalia

Anyone caught with drug paraphernalia in Wyoming is guilty of a crime. It’s punishable by up to a $750 fine and up to 6 months’ incarceration.

Medical Marijuana

Medical Marijuana – Image powered by Avilagtitkai.com

Qualifying patients certified by a neurologist as suffering from intractable epilepsy may possess hemp extracts in Wyoming. These extracts are defined as having under 0.3% THC and over 15% CBD content. These patients must have a state-issued hemp extract identification card to participate in this state’s form of a medical cannabis program.

Current Wyoming state law does not specify the amounts of hemp extracts these qualifying patients may possess at any given time.

Selling Marijuana in Wyoming

Wyoming lawmakers have made it a felony to sell any amount of marijuana in this state. Related crimes are punishable as follows:

Selling Marijuana – Image powered by Npr.org

  • Selling = Up to $10,000 fine and/or up to 10 years’ incarceration
  • Selling to a minor 3 or more years younger = Up to $10,000 fine and/or up to 20 years’ incarceration
  • Within 500 feet of school = Additional $500 fine added to penalty for crime

Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana in Wyoming

No person or entity may manufacture, cultivate or grow marijuana in the state of Wyoming for any purpose whatsoever. Any person caught growing any amount of cannabis in this state is guilty of a misdemeanor. The penalty is a fine up to $1,000 and up to 6 months’ incarceration.

Growing and Manufacturing Marijuana – Image powered by 420magazine.com

Concentrates & Hashish

Any material, device or equipment used to make or manufacture cannabis extracts or hashish is considered paraphernalia. Convictions for possession of such devices comes with a fine up to $750 and up to 6 months in jail.

Using Marijuana in Wyoming

Wyoming state laws penalize anyone found to be under the influence of cannabis. These misdemeanor offenders are subject to fines up to $750 and/or up to 6 months’ imprisonment.

Wyoming lawmakers introduced an initiative that would have legalized cannabis for recreational purposes within this state. However, it didn’t get the required number of signatures to be placed on the ballot in November 2016. Another bill also didn’t make it through the legislature. This one would have decriminalized the possession of cannabis in the state.

Using Marijuana – Image powered by Laodong.vn

Concentrates and Hash

Wyoming law penalizes anyone found in possession of hashish and concentrates within the state. However, U.S. federal law legalizes the consumption and use of CBD hemp oil throughout the entire country.

Under federal law, hemp oil falls under commerce and importation laws. These laws makes it lawful to purchase and import hemp products as dietary supplements. Such a law is in direct contradiction to Wyoming’s state law on hemp oil.

Medical Marijuana

Medical Marijuana – Image powered by 420intel.com

Wyoming’s HB 32 makes it legal for registered patients suffering from intractable epilepsy to be exempt from certain state penalties for possessing and using CBD hemp extract oil. These extracts must contain high amounts of CBD (at least 15%) and low amounts of THC (no more than 0.3%).

However, this law does not offer provisions for the cultivation of cannabis or the manufacturing of hemp oil within the state of Wyoming. Therefore, these qualifying patients have no legal means of obtaining these medical marijuana products. Some have chosen to buy it in other states, and bring it back into the state for medicinal uses. However, it is unclear as to whether this practice is legal.

Breaking the Marijuana Laws in Wyoming

Breaking the Marijuana Laws – Image powered by Motherjones.com

The State of Wyoming has implemented a per se drugged driving law. It states that no one is allowed to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of a drug metabolite or illicit drug. This includes cannabis.

The post Marijuana Laws in Wyoming appeared first on I Love Growing Marijuana.

Original article from ilovegrowingmarijuana.com:Marijuana Laws in Wyoming


©2017 - Hempyreum.org - News aggregator about Hemp and Cannabis [Beta] | All rights and ownership of the contents belong to their respective holders

Advertising